Granny’s Rules – The story that started all stories

Once upon a time, there was a little boy named Billy. He lived with his mom, dad and his two brothers named Ronnie and Jimmy. One day, when Billy was about 5 years old his granny came to live with them.

Granny had a big rocking chair in her room and Billy would sit on the arm of the chair every night so that granny could sing him a song before he went to bed.

Every night it was the exact same song….

In the morning of my life I shall look to the sunrise.
At a moment in my life when the world is new.
And the blessing I shall ask is that God will grant me,
To be brave and strong and true,
And to fill the world with love my whole life through.

And to fill the world with love
And to fill the world with love
And to fill the world with love my whole life through

In the noontime of my life I shall look to the sunshine,
At a moment in my life when the sky is blue.
And the blessing I shall ask shall remain unchanging.
To be brave and strong and true,
And to fill the world with love my whole life through

And to fill the world with love
And to fill the world with love
And to fill the world with love my whole life through

In the evening of my life I shall look to the sunset,
At a moment in my life when the night is due.
And the question I shall ask only God can answer.
Was I brave and strong and true?
Did I fill the world with love my whole life through?

And to fill the world with love
And to fill the world with love
And to fill the world with love my whole life through

(Fill the world with love by Petula Clark from the movie Goodbye Mr. Chips)

… and every night the last thing granny said was “Be a good boy Billy”

Ronnie was 2 years older than Billy and went to school. Every morning granny would tell Ronnie to take a hat for the sun or an umbrella for the rain and each day it was either sunny or rainy; exactly as Granny predicted……. EVERYDAY!

It took a little while for Billy to figure out that Granny could predict the weather but finally one day, Billy said to Granny…

“How do you do that Granny?”

“Come here Billy”

Granny sat Billy down on the arm of the rocking chair and looked into Bill’s eyes so that Billy settled down and paid attention.

“I love you Billy”

“I love you too granny”

“You’re a good boy Billy”

“Thank you Granny, but how do you know when it’s going to rain?”

“Granny has some rules to teach you, but she wants to be absolutely sure that you’ll remember them.”

“I will Granny”

Granny promised to explain how she knew if it would rain or not; if I promised to learn her number one rule.

I promised and so……..

*As written by William (Billy) Andrews

*All based on true stories

Leave a comment